ابحث في المراكز الطبية

اعتمادات صناعة السياحة العلاجية

الحفاظ على مستوى مرتفع من الجودة في الخدمات المقدمة في مجال السياحة العلاجية

واحدة من أهم المخاوف لدى السياح المسافرين للعلاج، هي قدرة المزودين الأجانب على تقديم رعاية طبية بنفس الجودة المرتفعة المتوفرة في بلادهم. و دفع الإقبال المتزايد على مقدمي الرعاية الصحية بالخارج اللجنة المشتركة لاعتماد منظمات الرعاية الصحية (JCAHO)، أفضل مجموعة لاعتماد منظمات الرعاية الصحية في الولايات المتحدة، لتشكيل فرع دولي معروف باسم اللجنة الدولية المشتركة (JCI).

في 1999، بدأت JCI بتقصي واعتماد المستشفيات ومنشآت الرعاية الصحية خارج الولايات المتحدة. توجد الآن 220 مستشفى معتمدة في جميع أنحاء العالم، ويقدم معظمهم خدمات مضمونة الجودة في مجال السياحة العلاجية.

وبجانب اللجنة الدولية المشتركة (JCI)، هناك منظمات غير ربحية أخرى تقدم اعتمادات دولية لمنظمات الرعاية الصحية في الولايات المتحدة. وتشمل ولكن لا تقتصر على:

منظمات الاعتماد غير الأمريكية

وبجانب هيئات الاعتماد الموجودة بالولايات المتحدة، هناك عدد من منظمات الاعتماد الدولية في مجال السياحة العلاجية، والموجودة خارج الولايات المتحدة. تؤدي هذه المنظمات دورًا دوليًا مشابهًا لدور اللجنة الدولية المشتركة (JCI)، فهي تقوم باعتماد مقدمي الخدمة الطبية دوليًا وإقليميًا.

حالة الاعتماد الدولي لمقدمي خدمات السياحة العلاجية

وتسعى الدول المعروفة بتقديم خدمات السياحة العلاجية، والتي تدرك التأثير الاقتصادي لسوق السياحة العلاجية على اقتصادياتها الوطنية، إلى تقديم أعلى جودة ممكنة للخدمات الطبية بأقل التكاليف. وتقوم هذه الدول بالتسويق للسياحة العلاجية بشكل مباشر، وتقوم الحكومات بدعم هذه الجهود التسويقية من خلال تقديم منشآت أفضل، والسعي نحو الحصول على اعتمادات دولية.

وهناك جزء من هذه الجهود يتضمن تشغيل أو تدريب أطباء حاصلين على مؤهلات دولية، مثل الأطباء الذين تدربوا في الولايات المتحدة، أو الحاصلين على اعتمادات المجالس الطبية في الولايات المتحدة، أستراليا، كندا، وأوروبا. على سبيل المثال:
  • الهند – مستشفيات أبوللو هي أكبر مقدم للخدمات الصحية، وأول مستشفيات يتم اعتمادها من اللجنة الدولية المشتركة JCI في الهند. مجموعة أبوللو مرتبطة كذلك بجونز هوبكنز الدولية في الدراسات الخاصة بأمراض القلب. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الاتحاد الهندي للرعاية الصحية يقدم معايير للاعتماد للمستشفيات المحلية. كما توجد في الهند كذلك مجموعة ووكهاردت، المقدمة للخدمات الصحية، والمرتبطة بكلية طب هارفارد.
  • سنغافورة – تقدم سنغافورة مستشفيات حديثة جدًا، منها ثلاثة مستشفيات معتمدة من قبل اللجنة الدولية المشتركة JCI. وأهمها المركز الطبي الدولية، والذي يرتبط كذلك بعلاقات بحثية مع جونز هوبكنز الدولية.
  • بنما – يمكن مقارنة كبرى مستشفيات بنما بالمستشفيات الأمريكية، نظرًا لأن العديد من أطباء بنما مدربون ومعتمدون من الولايات المتحدة. وأهم هذه المستشفيات هي مستشفى بونتا باسيفيكا، المرتبطة بجونز هوبكنز الدولية.
  • تايلاند - هناك أكثر من مليون سائح علاجي يذهبون إلى تايلاند كل سنويًا لتلقي العلاج. وفي تايلاند تتصدر صناعة السياحة العلاجيةمستشفى بومرونجراد الدولي في بانكوك. تقع المستشفى في مبنى حديث يتطابق مع معايير الولايات المتحدة، وفريق عمل أمريكي الإدارة، يشمل 200 طبيب وجراح معتمد من المجلس الطبي الأمريكي. وباقي الفريق معتمد من أستراليا، أوروبا واليابان.

هناك مستشفيات أجنبية أخرى، تمتلكها، وتديرها، أو ترتبط بمستشفيات أمريكية، ومقدمي خدمات الرعاية الصحية, وجامعات مرموقة. مثل كليفلاند كلينيك والتي تمتلك وتدير عدة منشآت صحية في دول أخرى مثل كندا، أستراليا، والإمارات العربية المتحدة. مجموعة المستشفىات الدولية ومقرها في دالاس تبني وتدير مستشفيات ذات معايير أمريكية في المكسيك.

مؤهلات الأطباء والجراحين في وجهات السياحة العلاجية

مثلما يسافر العديد من الأطباء الأمريكيين لقضاء فترة من تدريبهم الطبي بالخارج، يتلقى العديد من الأطباء من الدول الأخرى تدريبهم، ويحصلون على شهادة المجلس الطبي الأمريكي بالولايات المتحدة. وتفتخر العديد من المستشفيات الأجنبية بهؤلاء الأطباء، مما يعزز من صورتهم في صناعة السياحة العلاجية. ويحصل العديد من هؤلاء الأطباء على الزمالة من الجمعيات الطبية الأمريكية وشهادات تخصص من المجلس الطبي الأمريكي.

المعيار الذهبي للشهادات والاعتمادات في المجال الطبي في الولايات المتحدة هو المجلس الأمريكي للتخصصات الطبية (ABMS) . وهي المنظمة التي تشرف على 24 مجلسًا طبيًا متخصصًا معتمدًا في الولايات المتحدة. تُمنح النجمة الذهبية المرغوبة من قبل الـ ABMS لاعتماد الأطباء المحليين والدوليين إثباتُا لخبراتهم في مجال تخصصهم. الشهادات الممنوحة من الـABMS وأعضاء المجالس معترف بها على نطاق واسع من قبل منظمات الرعاية الصحية، شركات القانون وشركات التأمين. وتشمل المجالس المتخصصة:
  • المجلس الأمريكي لأمراض الحساسية والمناعة
  • المجلي الأمريكي للتخدير
  • المجلس الأمريكي لجراحات القولون والمستقيم
  • المجلس الأمريكي لأمراض الجلدية
  • المجلس الأمريكي لطب الطوارئ
  • المجلس الأمريكي لطب الأسرة
  • المجلس الأمريكي للطب الباطني
  • المجلس الأمريكي للوراثة الطبية
  • المجلس الأمريكي لجراحة الأعصاب
  • المجلس الأمريكي للطب النووي
  • المجلس الأمريكي لأمراض النساء والتوليد
  • المجلس الأمريكي للرمد
  • المجلس الأمريكي لجراحات العظام
  • المجلس الأمريكي لأمراض الأنف والأذن والحنجرة
  • المجلس الأمريكي للباثولوجي
  • المجلس الأمريكي للطب الطبيعي والتأهيل
  • المجلس الأمريكي لجراحة التجميل
  • المجلس الأمريكي للطب الوقائي
  • المجلس الأمريكي للطب النفسي والأمراض العصبية
  • المجلس الأمريكي للأشعة
  • المجلس الأمريكي للجراحة
  • المجلس الأمريكي لجراحة الصدر

In the UK, the prominent professional medical association is the British Medical Association (BMA). However, certification is provided by the General Medical Council (GMC), which is responsible for controlling the certification and licenses of doctors and surgeons. The GMC also liaises with medical associations and certification bodies from other countries, particularly medical tourism industry providers. The result is a mutual recognition of physician qualifications.
في المملكة المتحدة، تعد أهم الجمعيات الطبية المتخصصة هي الجمعية الطبية البريطانية(BMA). إلا إن الشهادات الممنوحة من المجلس الطبي العام (GMC) والمسئول عن اعتماد ومنح الترخيص بالعمل للأطباء والجراحين. كما يقوم الـGMC بالتواصل مع الجمعيات الطبية وهئيات الاعتماد بالدول الأخرى، خاصةً مقدمي صناعة السياحة العلاجية. والنتيجة هي الاعتراف المتبادل بالمؤهلات الطبيب.

في أوروبا، يعد الاتحاد الأوروبي للتخصصات الطبية (UEMS) هو المسئول عن اعتماد ومنح رخصة العمل للأطباء والجراحين. كما يقوم الـ GMC بالتواصل مع الجمعيات الطبية وهيئات الاعتماد بالدول الأخرى، خاصةً مقدمي خدمات السياحة العلاجية. والنتيجة هي الاعتراف المتبادل بالمؤهلات الطبية. يمثل الـUEMS أكثر من 1.4 مليون أخصائي معتمد، حيث يسعى لتوحيد قوانين وممارسات الجمعيات الطبية المحلية للدول الاعضاء. والتي تشمل:
  • النمسا
  • بلجيكا
  • قبرص
  • جمهورية التشيك
  • الدنمارك
  • إستونيا
  • فنلندا
  • فرنسا
  • ألمانيا
  • اليونان
  • المجر
  • أيسلندا
  • أيرلندا
  • إيطاليا
  • لاتفيا
  • ليتوانيا
  • لوكسمبورج
  • مالطا
  • هولندا
  • النرويج
  • بولندا
  • البرتغال
  • سلوفاكيا
  • سلوفينيا
  • أسبانيا
  • السويد
  • سويسرا
  • المملكة المتحدة

كل حقوق النشر محفوظة، © 2008 - 2016 Health-Tourism.com

Medical Tourism Industry Certifications

Maintaining High Quality Services in the Medical Tourism Industry

One of the primary concerns for health travelers is whether foreign providers can offer the same high-quality medical care they receive in their country of origin. This growing demand for foreign healthcare providers has prompted the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), the best known healthcare accreditation group in the USA, to form an international offshoot known as the Joint Commission International (JCI).

In 1999, the JCI began surveying and accrediting hospitals and healthcare facilities outside of the USA. There are now over 220 accredited hospitals worldwide and most are providing quality services for the medical tourism industry.

Aside from the JCI, there are alternative non-profit groups providing accreditation for healthcare organizations in the USA. These include but are not limited to:

Non-US Accreditation Organizations

Aside from the accreditation bodies based in the USA, there are a number of international accreditation organizations in the medical tourism industry that are based abroad. These organizations perform a similar international role as the JCI, providing accreditation to international or regional health providers.

International Certification Status of Medical Tourism Providers

Destination countries for medical travelers that realize the impact of the medical tourism business in the economies of their respective countries, strive to provide the highest quality at the lowest possible cost. These countries are openly marketing medical tourism, with governments supporting these efforts by providing better facilities and seeking international accreditation.

Part of these efforts include hiring or training physicians with international credentials, such as professionals who train and are board certified in the USA, Australia, Canada and Europe. For example:
  • India – Apollo Hospitals are the largest healthcare provider and the first JCI-certified hospitals in India. The Apollo Group is also connected with Johns Hopkins Medicine International on studies regarding heart diseases. On top of this, the Indian Healthcare Federation provides accreditation standards for its local providers. Another provider, Wockhardt, is affiliated with the Harvard Medical School.
  • Singapore – This country provides state-of-the-art hospitals, three of which are accredited by the JCI. The International Medical Centre which is also affiliated with Johns Hopkins International, is the most notable.
  • Panama – With several Panamanian physicians trained and certified in the United States, Panama's top hospitals are comparable to the US. Foremost is the Punta Pacifica Hospital which is affiliated with Johns Hopkins International.
  • Thailand – There are over 1 million medical tourists going to Thailand each year.The fore-runner for Thailand's medical tourism industry is Bumrungrad International Hospital in Bangkok. Located in a modern hospital building that complies with US standards, they comprise of an American-managed medical staff that includes 200 US board-certified doctors and surgeons. The rest of the staff members are licensed in Australia, Europe and Japan.

There are other foreign hospitals that are owned, managed or affiliated with American hospitals, healthcare providers and prestigious universities. An example is the Cleveland Clinic which owns and manages several facilities in other countries like Canada, Austria and the United Arab Emirates. The International Hospital Group which is based in Dallas builds and operates US-standard hospitals in Mexico.

Qualification of Doctors and Surgeons in Medical Tourism Destinations

Just as many doctors in the USA undergo part of their medical training abroad, many physicians from other countries have also trained and received board-certification in the United States. Foreign hospitals boast of their US and/or internationally certified medical staff. This can boost their image in the medical tourism industry. Many of these physicians have fellowships with American medical societies and have specialist certification from an American medical board.

The golden standard for certification for the medical profession in the USA is provided by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). This is the umbrella organization for 24 nationally approved medical specialist boards. The coveted Gold Star is given by the ABMS to certified local and international physicians to demonstrate their expertise in their specialist fields. Certifications by the ABMS and its Member Boards are widely referenced by healthcare organizations, law firms and insurance companies. These specialist boards include the following certification bodies:
  • American Board of Allergy and Immunology
  • American Board of Anesthesiology
  • American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery
  • American Board of Dermatology
  • American Board of Emergency Medicine
  • American Board of Family Medicine
  • American Board of Internal Medicine
  • American Board of Medical Genetics
  • American Board of Neurological Surgery
  • American Board of Nuclear Medicine
  • American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • American Board of Ophthalmology
  • American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery
  • American Board of Otolaryngology
  • American Board of Pathology
  • American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • American Board of Plastic Surgery
  • American Board of Preventive Medicine
  • American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
  • American Board of Radiology
  • American Board of Surgery
  • American Board of Thoracic Surgery

In the UK, the prominent professional medical association is the British Medical Association (BMA). However, certification is provided by the General Medical Council (GMC), which is responsible for controlling the certification and licenses of doctors and surgeons. The GMC also liaises with medical associations and certification bodies from other countries, particularly medical tourism industry providers. The result is a mutual recognition of physician qualifications.

In Europe, the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) is responsible for controlling the certification and licenses of doctors and surgeons. The GMC also liaises with medical associations and certification bodies from other countries, particularly medical tourism industry providers. The result is a mutual recognition of physician qualifications. With over 1.4 million certified medical specialists represented by the UEMS, they aim to standardize the laws and practices of the National Medical Associations from member countries. These include:
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom