搜索医疗中心

医疗旅游的经济建议

医疗旅游中的经济难题

医疗补助和医疗旅游

尽管纳税人可以从医疗旅游能够节省大笔的费用,许多州的医疗补助项目继续将国外医疗保险排除在其范围之外。这使得病人很难为他们的医疗旅游提供资金,一切只能依靠自己的资金。这对于那些在美国享有医疗福利的外国出生的工人回到本国退休困难了。

医疗补助和医疗旅游

医疗保险方面也有着类似的限制,福利仅在美国境内提供。由于在墨西哥,这迫使居住在墨西哥的约40000至80000名美国退休人员自己支付医疗费用。为了从医疗保险中获得医疗福利,他们必须回到美国,这样增加了护理的成本开支。另外,医疗保险需要患者对成本分摊,相当于病人免赔额的20%以上。这为医疗保险的接受者,尤其是老年人和退休人员带来了负担。

一些私人保险系统不承担医疗旅行费用。然而,当正在增加的投保人及雇主人看到他们能得到的经济利益应该包括国外医疗费用,这个可能会改变。与此同时,计划进行医疗保健旅游的个人应该寻求其他途径获得经济支持。

医疗旅游的总成本计算

无论为医疗旅游选择了何种经济支持的途径,还是有一些事项要仔细斟酌的。虽然医院和医生的费用占据了开支的大部分,但是其他的一些因素应考虑在其预算内,具体包括如下:

  • 护照费用,包括旅行签证和其他所需证件;
  • 机票费用;
  • 到达和离开机场接机费用;
  • 酒店到医疗机构的医院或诊所之间的交通费用;
  • 酒店住宿费;
  • 餐饮及小费支出;
  • 与本国之间的国际长途电话费;
  • 药物及治疗支持的成本;
  • 病后护理费用;
  • 保险费;
准备好以上费用清单,可让您在国外治疗的医疗旅游的总成本有一个清晰的认知。


医疗旅游者可获得的经济支持方式:

  • 使用私人存款。
  • 使用信用卡:一些治疗的开销会在个人信用卡的额度之内。
  • 获得新的信用额度。
  • 使用个人贷款。有几家金融机构将医疗旅行作为申请贷款的正当理由。
  • 家人和朋友的经济支持:无论他们处境如何,患者总是可以得到朋友和家人的帮助。
  • 受益于医疗旅游中介机构提供的融资项目。
  • 进行筹款活动:朋友、家庭和网络可以投入资金,以达到所需的目标数额。
  • 将房屋进行抵押贷款:这应该是最后的手段之一,只有在危及生命的医疗情况下才能考虑。
  • 清算可用的个人财产:在严重的情况下,健康优先于金钱。

医疗旅游中介机构的经济支持

数家医疗旅游中介机构的出现,使得人们在医疗旅游过程中能够更加容易地获得经济支持。这些中介就像专业的旅行社一样,寻找和调查能提供质量好,美国标准的医疗服务和设施的国外有资质的合格的卫生服务提供者。

这些医疗旅游中介机构可以提供融资项目,帮助患者获得医疗旅游所需的资金。根据治疗的要求,由这些机构提供的大部分资金范围为500美元到2.5万美元。

这些经济援助的利息非常低,付款条件取决于患者的申请,账户和账单可以在线访问和在线支付。大多数情况下,医疗旅游中介机构会直接用批准的资金中支付给医疗提供者,并提供账户的余额给患者用于他们需要的用于其他费用。

特殊的医疗融资公司

医疗旅游者利用自己的医疗旅游的好处的人数越来越多,吸引了金融贷款行业的参与。健康保险公司不可提供的,这些医疗金融服务可以提供信贷,随着贷款和融资计划变得更容易负担,这些金融服务可能是最好的选择。

这些公司向医疗旅游者提供消费贷款和信贷额度。其中一些公司为广泛的医疗保健者提供一揽子服务,甚至在医疗保险公司远离比如吸脂,整容,头发修复,减肥治疗,不孕不育的治疗等整容领域,申请人可以在网上完成,然后可以由多个贷方进行评估。

版权© 2008 - 2017 Health-Tourism.com,版权所有

Financing Tips for Medical Tourists

Financing Difficulties for a Medical Tourist

Medicaid and medical tourism

Despite the significant savings that taxpayers can derive from healthcare tourism, state Medicaid programs continue to exclude offshore healthcare from their coverage. This makes it difficult for patients to finance their medical travels, as they must rely on their own funds.
This also makes it difficult for foreign-born workers who are entitled to healthcare benefits in the United States to return to their native countries to retire.

Medicare and medical tourism

Medicare has similar limitations. Benefits are provided only within the United States. This forces approximately 40,000 to 80,000 American retirees residing in Mexico to pay for healthcare on their own whilst in that country. To receive healthcare benefits from Medicare they must travel back to the United States. In addition, Medicare requires patient cost sharing which is equivalent to 20% above a patient's deductible. This places a burden on healthcare recipients, particularly seniors and retirees.

The current private insurance system is hesitant in connection with medical travel. However, a growing number of insurers and employers are considering the financial benefits that they could derive should they include offshore medical procedures. In the meantime, individuals planning to go on healthcare tourism should seek other means to get financing.

Calculating the full cost of medical travel

Whatever path a potential medical tourist takes to get financing, there are a few preliminary considerations they need to consider. The bulk of the expenses would fall on hospital and doctors' fees. However, other factors should be included in their budget. These include:
  • Passport costs, including travel visas and other required documents
  • Airfare
  • Airport pick-up upon arrival and departure
  • Transport cost from hotel to health provider's clinics or hospitals and vice versa
  • Hotel accommodation
  • Food, drinks, and tips
  • International calls and other correspondence back home
  • Medication and medical supplies
  • Aftercare costs
  • Insurance
Preparing this checklist can provide the medical tourist with a clear picture of the total cost for his or her medical procedure abroad.

Available financing options for medical tourists

For people who choose to undergo a medical procedure abroad, there are several potential ways of financing the trip:
  • Use of personal savings.
  • Use of credit cards: The costs of some procedures are within the credit limits allocated for personal credit cards.
  • Take on a new line of credit.
  • Avail oneself of a personal loan. Several financing organizations are including medical travel as valid reasons to apply for a loan.
  • Financial support from family and friends: No matter what situation they are in, patients can always rely on friends and families to help them out.
  • Benefit from financing programs provided by medical tourism intermediaries
  • Conduct fundraising: Friends, family and network can pitch in and raise funds to reach the required target amount.
  • Taking an equity loan on their homes: This should be one of the last resorts and should be contemplated only in life-threatening medical situations.
  • Liquidate available personal assets: In severe cases, health is prioritized over money.

Financing by medical tourism intermediaries

The emergence of several healthcare tourism intermediaries has made it a lot easier for medical tourists to get financing. These intermediaries are like specialized travel agencies who search and investigate certified quality health providers abroad that can provide quality, American-standard healthcare services and facilities.

Such medical tourism intermediaries offer financing programs to help patients get the funds they need for their medical travel. Most of the financing offered by these agencies provide credit limits ranging from $500 to $25,000 depending on the procedures required.

These are offered at the lowest available interest rates with payment terms depending on the patient’s application. Accounts and bills can be accessed and paid online. In most cases, the intermediaries pay the healthcare providers directly from the approved fund, and the balance given to the patients for other expenses that they need.

Special medical financing companies

The increasing number of medical tourists availing themselves of the benefits from healthcare tourism has attracted involvement from the financial loan industry. What health insurance companies will not give, these medical financial services provide - on credit. With loans and financing schemes becoming more affordable, these financial services may be the best options available.

These companies provide consumer loans and lines of credit to a medical tourist. Some of these companies provide packages for the whole, broad spectrum of healthcare, even on areas that health insurance companies keep away from. These include liposuction, facelifts, hair restoration, bariatric treatments, infertility treatments and a whole lot more. Applications can be done online and can then be assessed by multiple lenders.