ابحث في المراكز الطبية

مرحلة عناية فترة النقاهة خلال رحلة العلاج

بالرغم من أن السياحة العلاجية أتاحت للناس ميزة الحصول على عمليات طبية في الخارج بتكاليف تنافسية، لكنك حتى وإن ذهبت في رحلتك الطبية إلي وجهة متميزة، فإن عليك أن تضع في اعتبارك أن أولويتك الأولى هي الحاجة للشفاء التام و الحصول على رعاية كاملة خلال فترة النقاهة.

فترة النقاهة وفترة الراحة أمران في غاية الأهمية بعد أي نوع من العمليات الجراحية أو العلاج الطبي. وتعتمد طول وطبيعة فترة النقاهة على الإجراء الطبي المقدم. فعلى سبيل المثال:
  • المريض الذي أجرى عملية كبرى بالقلب سيحتاج فترة راحة طويلة
  • المريض الذي أجرى عملية صغيرة بالأسنان يمكنه العودة إلى العمل فورًا
ولكن هناك شيء واحد أكيد، العناية بالمريض خلال فترة النقاهة جزء جوهري من العملية العلاجية الكاملة، ويجب على المريض اتباع تعليمات فترة النقاهة التي يقدمها له الجراح أو الطبيب، سواء تلقي العلاج في البيت أو بالخارج.

المخاطر المحتملة في الرحلات العلاجية

توصلت استطلاع رأي 2008 للمستفيدين من الخدمة الطبية، التي أجراها مركز ديلويت للحلول الطبية لأن:
  • يسافر 3% من المرضي للخارج للعلاج
  • يظهر 27% أن لديهم استعداد بدون أي تحفظات مسبقة
  • 39% سيفكرون في السفر إلى الخارج إذا كانت التكاليف أقل بـ50% مقابل خدمة على نفس مستوى الجودة المقدمة في بلاده
تشير تلك الأرقام إلى أن المشاركين في الاستطلاع لا يشعرون بالقلق حيال جودة وسلامة الخدمة الطبية المقدمة في السياحة العلاجية. بينما تشير نفس الأرقام إلى أنه ما زالت لديهم تحفظات حول مخاطر تلقي العلاج في بلد أجنبي.

وأحد تلك المخاطر هي صعوبة الحصول على عناية جيدة خلال فترة ما بعد العلاج عند العودة من الرحلة الطبية. فقد يحتاجون إلى عناية مرتفعة الثمن لمعالجة إحدى المضاعفات حال حدوثها. فتنسيق عناية ما بعد العملية عند عودة المريض من رحلته تعد واحدة من أهم الجوانب الحيوية التي يهتم بها المسافرون للعلاج.

اعتبارات تمهيدية قبل السفر للخارج

يجب أن توضع عناية ما بعد العلاج ضمن الخطة العلاجية منذ البداية. وفيما يلي بعض العناصر الأساسية التي يجب على المسافرين للعلاج أخذها في الاعتبار قبل الشروع في رحلتهم الطبية:
  • يجب أن يعرف طبيبك المحلي بأي علاج أو جراحة ستخضع لها.
  • يجب أن تقوم بتحديد مواعيد قبل وبعد العلاج.
  • اطلب نصيحة طبيبك فيما يخص العناية المطلوبة بعد العلاج.
  • قم بالاستفسار عن الحاجة إلى مرافق أثناء عناية ما بعد العلاج. (إذا كانت العملية تحتاج بالفعل إلى مرافق، قم بالترتيب لذلك مسبقًا).
إذا كنت ستقوم بالبحث بنفسك أو ستستعين بأحد وكالات السياحة العلاجية المحلية:
  • من المهم أن تقوم بتقييم عن بعد مع أطبائك بالخارج.
  • استخدم أنظمة التسجيل الطبي الإلكترونية التي يستخدمها الوسطاء الطبيين للتنسيق مع المستشفيات الأجنبية. يمكن الوصول إلى السجلات الطبية الإلكترونية، تقارير المرضى، التأثير المتبادل للأدوية، الأشعة ونتائج التحاليل المعملية بسهولة حتى أثناء فترة النقاهة.
  • يجب أن تفهم جيدًا متطلبات علاجك خلال فترة النقاهة، بما في ذلك التوقيت والبيئة المحيطة.
عليك أن تضع في اعتبارك أثناء وضعك لخطة العلاج، أن التعافي قد يكون بطيئًا، أو مؤلمًا، أو قد يتطلب مراقبة لعدة أيام في العيادة بعد الجراحة. وفيما يلي بعض الاستفسارات والمعلومات التي يجب أن تحصل عليها من مقدمي الخدمة الطبية:
  • نوع الرعاية التي تقدمها المنشأة الطبية الأجنبية خلال فترة النقاهة.
  • مدة الإقامة اللازمة قبل السفر عائدًا إلى بلادك.
  • مدى توفر الأدوية المطلوبة خلال فترة ما بعد العلاج في بلادك.
  • سهولة الاتصال بالطاقم الطبي الأجنبي بعد عودتك إلى بلادك.
  • متطلبات الزيارة مرة أخرى لإجراء أي فحوصات لازمة.
  • وجود طاقم طبي مؤهل تابع لوكالة السياحة العلاجية يمكنه تقديم العلاج اللازم خلال فترة النقاهة.

شراكات لمستشفيات دولية مع مقدمي خدمات السياحة العلاجية حول العالم

مع ازدياد شعبية السياحة العلاجية حول العالم في السنوات الأخيرة، فإن العديد من المؤسسات الصحية الدولية المرموقة قد أنشأت عدة شراكات مع عدد من مقدمي الخدمات الصحية الأجانب، لتوفير خدمة طبية عالية الجودة للمسافرين للعلاج.

ومن هذه المؤسسات الصحية المرموقة:
  • مؤسسة هارفارد الطبية: كونت أكثر من 50 برنامجًا للشراكة في أكثر من 30 دولة.
  • مركز ميموريال سلون-كيترينج للسرطان: كون شراكات مع العديد من المؤسسات الطبية في عدد من دول العالم، تشمل هونج كونج، برشلونة، جنيف، ساو باولو، سيول، اسطنبول، سنغافورة، والفلبين.
  • مؤسسة ديوك الطبية: شريك لكلية Duke-NUS الطبية في سنغافورة.
  • مستشفى جون هوبكنز: لديها شراكات مع عدد من المؤسسات الطبية ذائعة الصيت في اليابان، سنغافورة، الهند، الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كندا، لبنان، تركيا، أيرلندا، البرتغال، شيلي، وبنما.
  • كليفلاند كلينيك: لديها مقر في كندا يتصل بها بالقمر الصناعي.
بالإضافة إلى مثل هذه المؤسسات الطبية، فإن هناك عددًا من وكالات السياحة العلاجية الدولية التي ترتبط بشراكات مع مقدمي خدمات صحية في مختلف دول العالم. مثل هذه الوكالات تضم أطقم طبية مؤهلة يمكنها تقديم الرعاية المطلوبة في مرحلة ما بعد العلاج للعملاء بعد عودتهم من رحلتهم الطبية. وتتضمن هذه الخدمات:
  • خطوط مساعدة طبية على مدار الأربع والعشرين ساعة
  • فحوصات ما بعد العلاج
  • خدمات وصف العلاج
  • مستويات أعلى من العناية
  • خدمات يتم توفيقها خصيصًا وفقًا لاحتياجات العميل

خيارات فترة النقاهة في السياحة العلاجية

وفقًا لنوع العلاج أو الخدمة الطبية المقدمة، يمكن أن يعرض على المريض خيار قضاء فترة النقاهة أو التعافي كاملة في محل إقامتهم المريح الخاص بالرحلة. ويمكن لهذه التجربة المنعشة أن تكون جيدة للمريض، ويمكنها أيضًا أن تسرع من عملية التعافي.

يمكن للسفر فور إجراء الجراحة أو فور العلاج أن يسبب التوتر لجسم المريض وبالتالي يمكن أن يتسبب في إبطاء عملية التعافي. لذا فإن أجازة مريحة في بيئة هادئة منعشة قد تكون هي الخيار الأفضل بالنسبة للمريض. وتتضمن خيارات العناية بالمريض أثناء مرحلة ما بعد العلاج ما يلي:
  • وجهات الرعاية الصحية في الهند، والصين وتايلاند تتضمن شراكات مع مقدمي خدمات إقامة من الدرجة الأولى، وكذلك مقدمي خدمات المواصلات، بما في ذلك خدمات الرعاية الخاصة بمرضى ما بعد الجراحة أو العلاج.
  • وسائل الترفيه المتاحة والخاصة بثقافة البلد المضيف. لكن على المريض أن يفهم أن عليه الحذر من وسائل الترفيه التي قد يكون لها آثار سلبية على حالتهم في فترة النقاهة.
  • في جنوب أفريقيا، يمكن للمسافرين للقيام بعمليات تجميل الاستمتاع بإقامة فاخرة في فنادق الدرجة الأولى. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإنه بإمكان المريض خلال فترة النقاهة أن يقوم بتمديد رحلته للاستمتاع بالإقامة في نزل فاخر داخل أروع المحميات الطبيعية في البلاد.

العودة إلى بلادك بعد الرحلة العلاجية

بعض الإجراءات الطبية والعلاجات تتطلب متابعة وعناية طبية بعد عودتك إلى بلادك. كما يمكن أن يتطلب الأمر إجراءات إضافية، مثل إزالة الغرز الجراحية، أو الحصول على وصفات طبية لبعض الأدوية، وذلك كجزء من الرعاية الخاصة بفترة النقاهة. وفيما يلي الخطوات التي ينبغي عليك اتخاذها عند العودة من رحلتك العلاجية:
  • إذا كنت قد سافرت للعلاج وحدك، فإن عليك الاتصال بطبيبك الشخصي للفحص والمتابعة.
  • قم بتحضير كل المعلومات الضرورية التي سيحتاجها طبيبك من مقدم الخدمة الأجنبي. وهذا يتضمن كافة معلومات الاتصال الخاصة بمقدم الخدمة الطبية الخاص بك في الخارج.
  • وبشكل مماثل، فإنك إذا كنت قد تلقيت الخدمات الصحية الخاصة بك من أحد وكالات السياحة العلاجية، فإن عليك الاتصال بطاقمهم الخاص بتوفير خدمات رعاية ما بعد العلاج وغيرها من الخدمات المشابهة. ويمكن الحصول على المعلومات الخاصة بك بسهولة عن طريق السجلات الطبية الإلكترونية.
  • شارك في برامج إعادة التأهيل أو برامج فترة النقاهة أو غيرها من الإجراءات الطبية التي قد يطلبها طبيبك المعالج لاستمرار التحسن عقب الجراحة أو العلاج الذي تلقيته. ويتضمن هذا زيارات متابعة واستشارات على فترات زمنية منتظمة، اعتمادًا على نوع العملية التي أجريتها.

كل حقوق النشر محفوظة، © 2008 - 2016 Health-Tourism.com

Medical Trip Aftercare Process in Medical Tourism

Medical tourism has enabled people to take advantage of competitively priced medical procedures abroad. However, even when taking a medical trip to an exotic location, you should always keep in mind the need for a full recovery and aftercare process.

 


As with any form of surgery or medical treatment, the recuperation and rest period after these procedures are imperative. The length and manner of recuperation will depend on the medical procedure rendered. For instance:
  • a patient undergoing major heart surgery will require a long period of rest
  • a patient undergoing a minor dental operation may return to work almost immediately

However, one thing is certain, aftercare is an intrinsic part of the whole treatment process. Whether the treatment is received at home or abroad, the patient should follow the aftercare instructions as advised by the surgeon or the doctor.

Potential Risk Factors in Medical Trips

The 2008 Survey of Health Care Consumers, conducted by the Deloitte Center for Health Solutions reveals that:
  • 3% of medical patients actually traveled outside the US for medical treatments
  • 27% indicated that they would travel outside the US without any preconditions
  • 39% would consider a procedure outside the US if the cost was less than 50% and the quality was equal to, or better than in the US

These figures indicate that respondents were not entirely concerned about quality and safety of the services offered by the medical tourism industry. However, the same figures indicate that people are still wary regarding the risks of undergoing treatment in a foreign country.

One of these potential risks is the difficulty in getting proper aftercare upon returning from the medical trip. If complications occur, expensive care may be needed for remediation. Aftercare coordination after a patient returns from a host country is one of the critical areas of concern for medical travelers.

Preliminary Considerations before Traveling Abroad

Medical aftercare should be factored into the treatment plan right from the start. The following are some of the key elements that medical travelers should first consider before embarking on their medical trip.
  • Your own local doctor should be aware of any treatment or surgery that you will undergo.
  • You should make scheduled appointments before and after treatment.
  • Seek your doctor's advice on possible aftercare needs.
  • Ask if a companion is needed during aftercare. (If your procedure does, make arrangements ahead of time).

Whether you plan to do research on your own, or work with local Medical Tourism agencies:
  • It is important to have a remote evaluation with your physicians abroad.
  • Make use of the Electronic Medical Records system that medical intermediaries use, to coordinate with the foreign hospitals. EMRs, patient records, drug interactions, radiology and laboratory test results can be easily accessed even during aftercare.
  • You must clearly understand the recuperation requirements of your treatment including time and environment.

These should be factored into your plan. Recuperation may be slow, painful and require post-operative monitoring for several days at the clinic. Other enquiries and information that should be collected from the medical service providers, includes:
  • The type of aftercare provided by the medical facility abroad.
  • The length of stay necessary before traveling back home.
  • The availability of prescribed aftercare medication in the USA.
  • Ease of contact with the medical staff abroad after returning home.
  • Return visits requirements.
  • Qualified medical staff affiliated with the medical tourism agency that can provide aftercare treatment as needed.

US-Based Partnerships with Outbound Medical Tourism Providers

With the popularity of the medical tourism industry picking up over the last few years, several prestigious US-based healthcare providers have partnered with foreign providers to offer the best care for medical travelers.

Patients going through these partnership channels, have the advantage of receiving proper aftercare services upon their return home. These partnerships make the transference of your treatment files from foreign to local provider run more effectively and securely.

The leading providers are as follows:
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center: Has a medical center in Qatar and a cancer center in Dublin. They are currently developing a hospital in Palermo, Sicily.
  • Harvard Medicine: Has developed more than 50 programs and partnerships in more than 30 countries.
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center: Has established partnerships with several medical institutions in countries including Hong Kong, Barcelona, Geneva, Sao Paolo, Seoul, Istanbul, Singapore and the Philippines.
  • Cornell Medical School: Has a medical school in Qatar and a research institute in Seoul and is affiliated with several other institutions including Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and the Hospital for Special Surgery.
  • Duke Medicine: A partner of the Duke-NUS Medical Graduate School in Singapore.
  • John Hopkins Hospital: Has partnerships with several reputable medical institutions in Japan, Singapore, India, UAE, Canada, Lebanon, Turkey, Ireland, Portugal, Chile and Panama City.
  • Cleveland Clinic: Has a satellite campus in Canada.
  • Columbia University Medical Center: Has partnered with the Ben-Gurion University of the Negev to form the Medical School for International Health. CUMC is also affiliated with the American Hospital in Paris, the Florence Nightingale Hospital in Istanbul, and the St. Luke's Medical Center in the Philippines.

In addition to these medical institutions, there are US-based medical tourism service providers and agencies that have partnerships with certified medical providers in destination countries. These groups also have their own professionally certified medical staff that can provide support and aftercare services for their clients upon returning from their medical trip. These services include:
  • 24-hour medical help lines
  • Post-procedure checkups
  • Prescription services
  • Higher levels of care
  • Customized service based on the clients' requirements

Medical Trip Recovery Options

Depending on the type of treatment undertaken, the patient is offered the option to spend their full recuperation period in the comfort of their vacation accommodation. This refreshing experience can be good for the patient and hasten the recovery process.

Traveling immediately after surgery or treatment can cause stress to the patient's body and will not be conducive to the healing process. A relaxed holiday, in a quiet and serene environment, is the best option for recovery. Some recovery options available for medical travelers include:
  • Healthcare destinations in India, China and Thailand include partnerships with first-class accommodation providers for hotel and transportation, including recovery facilities for post-surgery or post-treatment patients.
  • Vacation activities typical of the culture and facilities of the host country. However, the patient should understand and watch out for activities that could have negative effects on their post-treatment conditions.
  • In South Africa, cosmetic and reconstructive surgery patients enjoy top accommodations from first-class hotels. In addition, patients recuperating can extend their stay in game lodges inside the country's best wildlife parks.

Returning Home After Your Medical Trip

Some procedures and treatments require follow-up care after you return home. Additional procedures, like the removal of stitches and prescription medicines, may be required as part of the recovery process. The following are the steps that you need to perform when you return from your medical trip:
  • If you traveled abroad on your own, you need to get in touch with your local doctor for a follow-up check-up.
  • Prepare all necessary information from the foreign provider that your doctor will need. This includes your foreign provider's contact information.
  • In a similar manner, if you received services from a medical tourism agency, you need to get in touch with their in-house medical staff to render aftercare and other related services. Your information can be easily retrieved from the EMR for their reference.
  • Participate in aftercare programs and other procedures as required by your doctors to achieve continued improvement after surgery or medical treatment. This includes regular consultations with your aftercare doctors at periodic intervals depending on the type of procedure you have undertaken.